Writing Madness

Patrick McGrath


Writing Madness is a new, massive collection of short fiction, novellas, and essays by Patrick McGrath. It features the complete contents of McGrath’s brilliant 1987 debut collection, Blood and Water and Other Tales, the three novellas of Ghost Town, six previously uncollected short stories, seven essays, and over 20 of McGrath’s insightful and engaging introductions and book reviews from over the years.
       For thirty years Patrick McGrath’s novels have received high critical acclaim worldwide, and won prizes internationally. Writing Madness is the first large-scale collection of McGrath’s short fiction and nonfiction, including the stories in Blood and Water and Other Tales, and Ghost Town: Tales of Manhattan Then and Now. Also included in this unique volume are a number of McGrath’s essays, introductions and book reviews, and several uncollected stories. An account of his childhood in the shadow of the walls of Britain’s largest top-security mental hospital, “A Boy’s Broadmoor,” is reprinted here, as is his astonishing account of a bizarre true-life tragedy, “Death of a Silent Twin.” Gorgeously illustrated by Harry Brockway, Writing Madness has both an introductory essay by Joyce Carol Oates, and an endnote by Danel Olson. The writer who first coined the term The New Gothic, and has been called by one critic “possibly the best gothic novelist ever,” is here published in a beautiful volume from Centipede Press, sure to become a treasured item on every collector’s bookshelf.
      Limited to just 300 copies for sale, this edition is signed by McGrath, Oates, Brockway, and Olson.

edition information

  • Limited to 300 copies, each signed by Patrick McGrath, Joyce Carol Oates, Harry Brockway, and Danel Olson.
  • Bound in full black Cialux cloth.
  • Sumptuous page design.
  • Two color printing throughout.
  • Ribbon marker.
  • Printed endsheets.
  • Top edge stain.
  • Head and tail bands.
  • Original book price: $125.
  • Published August 2017.
  • ISBN 978-1-61347-194-4.