The Man with the Speckled Eyes

R.A. Lafferty


In a career that began in 1959 and continued until his death in 2002, R.A. Lafferty garnered the admiration of authors and editors including Robert A.W. Lowndes, Harlan Ellison, A.A. Attanasio, Gene Wolfe, Michael Swanwick and many, many others. His body of short fiction is comprised of well over 200 stories and, despite his vast popularity, there was never a concerted effort made to produce a comprehensive collection of his short fiction, until now.
       Welcome to the fourth volume of the Lafferty Library, a series that will run to a dozen volumes and collect all of R.A. Lafferty’s short fiction. This present volume features Lafferty classics such as Bank and Shoal of Time, The Cliff Climbers, Been a Long, Long Time, Ishmael into the Barrens and many more. The depth and breadth of R.A. Lafferty’s wondrous imagination is on display once again. Enjoy seeing the world as you’ve never seen it before!
       This volume includes an introduction by Richard A. Lupoff, an afterword by John Pelan, and photographs of R.A. Lafferty. This item is now shipping. If you have ordered signed copies of the previous books in this series, you will receive your matching number and signed copy of this volume. Your number will be confirmed with your order confirmation.

edition information

  • Introduction by Richard A. Lupoff.
  • Afterword by John Pelan.
  • Photographs of R.A. Lafferty.
  • Fully cloth bound, gorgeous dustjacket, ribbon marker, head and tail bands.
  • Original book price: $45.
  • Published April 2017.
  • ISBN 978-1-61347-167-8.