The Shadow of the Torturer

Gene Wolfe


Possibly the finest science fiction series ever written, Gene Wolfe’s The Book of the New Sun has been hailed as one of the field’s most important and enduring works. The tale of Severian and his exile from the Guild of Torturers won the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel in 1980. A triumph of imagination and inventiveness. Contains six full color, full page illustrations by Alex Preuss.
       We will publish all six books in this series, including The Claw of the Conciliator, The Sword of the Lictor, The Citadel of the Autarch, The Urth of the New Sun and The Castle of the Otter. Each book will be illustrated by German artist Alex Preuss.

edition information

  • Limited to 100 copies, each signed by Gene Wolfe.
  • Full color artwork by Alexander Preuss.
  • Slipcase, ribbon marker, head and tail bands, three-piece cloth construction.
  • Original book price: $225.
  • Published October 2007.